The Louisiana Classicist

October 5, 2010

local teaching positions

Filed under: announcement — Ann E. M. Ostrom @ 11:37 am
Tags: , ,

Albert Watanabe, LCA Secretary, has been notified of two Latin teaching positions.

Penny Wells will be retiring from her position at Parkway High School in Bossier City in May 2011.  She hopes that there will be a strong field of applicants so that the principal will have to maintain the Latin program there.  At present the position has not been posted, but she suggests that you send a resumé either to the Bossier Parish School Board (www.bossierschools.org) or to the principal at Parkway, Dr. Nichole Bourgeois (http://parkway.bossierschools.org).  She also mentions that there may be a position at the middle school there. If you have further questions, please contact Penny Wells at Penny DOT Wells AT BossierSchools DOT Org.

Rebecca Runnels Morrison  is looking for someone to fill a position immediately at Runnels High School in Baton Rouge for the reminder of this semester, as one of their teachers has had to leave.   Rebecca writes: “We have a well developed classics program with Latin I – Latin AP and Greek I – IV (This year we only have Greek I and II, and no AP students. Next year I will have three AP students, and I expect that one of my Greek I students this year will continue through Greek IV.)

Here are the classes that are available:

Latin II – 8:30 – 9:20 AM
Latin I (honors): 11:00 – 11:50 AM
Latin I: 12:30 – 1:20 PM
Latin I: 1:20 – 2:10 PM
Latin I (honors): 2:10 – 3:00 PM

The classes are all small and mostly delightful. Temporarily, I can cover all of the Latin classes, but I can’t keep it up forever.

If someone were interested in the entire position, we would add one study hall, and two weekly 30 minute duties.

If you know of someone who might be interested in one or more of the classes, please pass this information on to him or her. Anyone interested should send me a resume at r DOT morrison AT runnels DOT org.”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

